Portuguese Composers on Palma Ars Acustica

In the framework of the partnership between Miso Music Portugal and the RTP - Antena 2, electroacoustic works by four Portuguese contemporary composers (Ângela da Ponte, António Ferreira, João Castro Pinto and Miguel Negrão) were submitted to the Prix Palma Ars Acustica, a competition organised by the Ars Acustica group of the European Broadcasting Union. 

This international competition intends to promote and honour outstanding productions of authors in the world of Ars Acustica: radio art, sound art, media art, text sound compositions, electroacoustic music, electronics, live electronica, etc.
Thanks to the partnership between Miso Music Portugal and Antena 2 for the first time Portugal is represented at Palma Ars Acustica, and thus in 2015 the competition includes the following Portuguese works:
- Ad eternum (2014) by Ângela da Ponte (1984), an 8-channel work, belonging to a group of works called Ensaios Sobre Cantos (Rehearsal on Chants), which explores traditional songs/ritual chants from the Azores in electroacoustic music context;
- Edgeland: scales and grains (2014) by António Ferreira (1963), exploring the acousmatic experience by using the "note" concept, employing Midi writing and rendering by several synthesizers;
- SIMULACRA - on discrete movements and dense textures (2013) by João Castro Pinto (1977), an acousmatic 8-channel piece composed at the Electronic Music Studios of the University of Leeds, intending to to blur the frontier of recognizable sound events and sound objects;
- Subjective referral backwards in time (2010) by Miguel Negrão (1982) where one traverses, sometimes violently, layers of impossible synthetic worlds.

Miguel Azguime will make part of the Palma Ars Acustica's jury, whose final decision and the announcement of the awarded works will take place on April 25 at Deutschlandradio Kultur in Berlin. 

FaLang translation system by Faboba